• Join The Party!

    Democratic Party of Chatham County (DPCC)

    Members of the Democratic Party of Chatham County (DPCC) shall advise the Chatham County Democratic Committee (CCDC), and DPCC members serve as the electorate for the CCDC.


    Registered voters with residence in Chatham County completing the DPCC Annual Declaration shall, upon voter verification, be recognized as a member of the DPCC.

    Chatham County Democratic County (CCDC)

    The Chatham County Democratic Committee, located in Savannah, is one of 159 County Committees and is the primary point of contact between the Democratic Electorate and the Democratic Party and is frequently the first contact for Democratic activists and candidates.


    The Chatham County Democratic Committee consists of 64 elected members with 8 elected members from each of the 8 Chatham County Commission Districts.


    Our Committee's duties include, but are not limited to, electing State Committee Members, promoting Party platforms, recruiting qualified candidates for public office, supporting Democratic nominees, qualifying Democratic candidates for county office, and performing such primary and election functions as are required through the by-law.

    Committee Meetings

    Chatham County Democratic Committee meetings are traditionally held monthly on the fourth Wednesday at 6 p.m. (except for December the 3rd Wednesday) on the 3rd Floor of the McKelvey-Powell Building, 714 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd., Savannah. (corner of Gwinnett Street & Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd.).


    All Committee meetings are held virtually through Zoom.

    If you wish to attend, you must be on the Committee's Mailing List to receive the invitation.


    All elected members of the Chatham County Democratic Committee are expected to be in attendance. Members of the Democratic Party of Chatham County with a 2021 Declaration on file are welcome to attend. Also, prospective members of the Democratic Party of Chatham County are also encouraged to attend and declaration forms may be completed on-site.


    We cordially invite you to join us, let your voice be heard, and become actively involved and engaged in making a positive change in our community! Contributing to your community means you can serve your fellow citizens, your neighbors, by helping to shape our local government's public policies.


    The Chatham County Democratic Committee, alongside the Democratic Party of Chatham County, helps to advise County Democrats about voting wisely, updating citizens about public policy changes, responds to calls-to-action, and identifies and recruits qualified Democratically-minded candidates to run for public office.

    2021 Meeting Schedule (Subject To Change)

    January 27 – Committee General Meeting

    February - District Community Meetings*

    March 24 - Democratic County Leaders

    April - District Community Meetings*

    May 26 - General Meeting

    June - District Community Meetings*

    July 28 - Committee General Meeting

    August - District Community Meetings*

    September 21 - Committee General Meeting

    October 27 - Committee General Meeting

    November 17 - Committee General Meeting

    December 15 - Committee General Meeting


    * Contact your District Captain for meeting information.

    About the McKelvey-Powell Building

    The McKelvey-Powell Building was originally constructed in 1926. The building was a hub of African-American business and social life in Savannah during the era of segregation in the first half of the twentieth century. Throughout the 1930s the McKelvey-Powell Building was a popular venue for both local music talent and nationally recognized performers. During World War II the building housed a USO center for black soldiers. Afterward, the West Broad Street YMCA operated in the building until the 1960s. It was later renovated, and dedicated in August 2003 as a community resource center under the guidance of Pastor Bennie R. Mitchell, Jr. and the Connor’s Temple Baptist Church congregation. Erected by the Georgia Historical Society and Connor’s Temple Baptist Church in 2005.


    Source: On-Site Historic Marker.


  • Meet The Committee

    Executive Committee Officers

    Jay Jones, Chair, chair [at] ccdcgeorgia.com
    Patrick Kelsey, 1st Vice-Chair, vicechair1 [at] ccdcgeorgia.com
    Tomeca McPherson, 2nd Vice-Chair, vicechair2 [at] ccdcgeorgia.com
    Gabrielle Nelson, Secretary, secretary [at] ccdcgeorgia.com
    Orlando Scott, Treasurer, treasurer [at] ccdcgeorgia.com

    District Captains

    1st District - Nick Savas (nsavas323 [@] gmail.com)
    2nd District - Mitch Mackler (mackler [@] yahoo.com]
    3rd District - Takisha Gates (takishap [@] gmail.com)
    4th District - Vacant
    5th District - Robert Bryant (rgbryant3 [@] gmail.com)
    6th District - Spencer DeMink
    (spencedemink [@] gmail.com)
    7th District - Orlando Scott (opscott70 [@] gmail.com)
    8th District - Ervenia Brown (ervenia [@] yahoo.com)


    State - Honorable Derrick Mallow
    County - Honorable Aaron 'Adot" Whitely
    Savannah - Honorable Alicia Miller-Blakely
    Pooler - Honorable Thomas Hutcherson
    Garden City - Honorable Richard Lassiter
    Port Wentworth - Honorable Thomas Barbee
    Thunderbolt - TBD
    Tybee Island - TBD
    Bloomingdale - TBD
    Unincorporated - TBD
    DPG/DNC - James "Jay" Jones
    Neighborhood - TBD

    Committees & Special Interests

    Budget And Finance - Orlando Scott
    Charter And Bylaws - Alldrein Murray
    Communication - Patrick Kelsey

    Membership - Andrea Silverman

    Elections & Voter Integrity - LaTricia Brown

    County Affairs - TBD
    Education - TBD
    Facilities - TBD
    Strategic Planning - TBD

    Caucuses & Task Forces

    Get Out The Vote - TBD
    African American - TBD
    Environment - Claudia Collier & Vicki Weeks
    Senior - TBD
    Veterans - TBD
    Women - TBD
    Youth Outreach - TBD

    Georgia State Delegates

    Claudia Collier

    John Haden

    James "Jay" Jones

    Vicki Weeks

    Aaron "Adot" Whitely

  • Elected Committee Members

All Posts